William Shakespeare on Politics


About dcbarroco

DCBarroco: The surreal musings of a "party animal" living Between the Beltways, whose favorite contact sport may be politics, but who also has interests that are not poll driven, who thinks beyond the next spin cycle and who will caucus with diverse special interest groups.

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Aphorisms, Pensee, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m not too sure this is from Shakespeare. Though the internet is full of sites attributing this phrase to Shakespeare, they never mention which work it is from. When I did a search in several Shakespeare search engines, nothing came up.
    — If anybody knows the work from which this phrase is from, can you let me know?

    • Thanks for your scrupulosity on scholarship. I have found the quote widely attributed to the Bard but I can not quickly source it.

      If any English Lit. majors or thespians can note the quote, it would be greatly appreciated 🙂

  2. The first thing we do, let’s kill all the lawyers. Henry The Sixth, Part 2 Act 4, scene 2, 71–78.

  3. Cade. I thank you good people: there shall be no money; all shall eat and drink on my score; and I will apparel them all in one livery, that they may agree like brothers, and worship me their lord.

    Dick. The first thing we do, let’s kill all the lawyers.

    Henry The Sixth, Part 2 Act 4, scene 2, lines 75–78.

    In my Great Books of the Western World, it’s vol. 26 p. 58 col. 2

Leave a Reply

